Condor Legion Panzer Organization

German unit histories, lineages, OoBs, ToEs, commanders, fieldpost numbers, organization, etc.

Moderator: Tom Houlihan

Nils

Condor Legion Panzer Organization

Post by Nils »

Hi,
I'm doing research into the German armor used in the Spanish Civil war. I've found that 4 "Abteilungen" of PzI were sent over as part of the Condor Legion and would like to know what their ToEs were. According to your glossary, Abteilungen means Battalion, but I've found other references that say it means Company, so I'm not even sure of the general number of PzI. Also, I've found references to these tanks being crewed both by german crews & german advisors training spanish crews to run them. Any idea which is correct?
Thanks
Howard
Associate

Post by Howard »

Hi Nils,

I'm no expert on the Spanish Civil War but take a look at this site, it may be of some help to you:
http://www.eliteforces.freewire.co.uk/c ... _units.htm;

There are quite a lot of typos but I think the basic info is okay.

HTH
Regards

Howard
militaryhistorywriter
Supporter

The Ground Element Of The Condor Legion

Post by militaryhistorywriter »

Dear Nils,
The following information is provided on Gruppe Imker-the codename of the German Ground Contingent of the Condor Legion:

1 Pz.Kp (from the 1 Battalion of Panzer Regiment 6 (Neuruppin))
2 Pz.Kp.(from the II Battalion of Panzer Regiment 6 (Neuruppin))
Transport Kp
Tansport Kp
Nachrichtenzug (Signals Platoon)
Werkstatts-Kp (Workshop Company)
1 Pak. Kdo. (Antitank Gun Command)