Grandfather schaetz

German Heer 1935-1945.

Moderator: John W. Howard

familyties

Grandfather schaetz

Post by familyties »

I'm new to this so forgive me if i am doing this wrong....Does anyone know where i could get any info about my Grandfather, He was a Sudeten german and was in the German army. I have a photo of him in his uniform, It is a balck & white photo, But his coller is darker then his jacket and has a white strip on each side, He has no medals but a black oblong piece of material over his left pocket and a eagle with a swastika on his right pocket. on his hat he has a black soutache with a little square and a white round with a dot in the middle. His shoulder straps are the same colour as his jacket. He was born in 1902 and died somewhere in Germany in 1943. He only has one daughter left and she doesn't remember anything. They fled Czechovslovakia abt 1942/3 He was already in the army by then so my Grandmother and 8 children had to travel alone into Germany. They settled in Ansbach, My mother went to England in 1948. Sadly she is gone now. As soon as my scanner works i will put his photo on here. I would like to know where he died and if i could get his records.

Yours sincerly familyties
Annelie
Patron

Re: Grandfather schaetz

Post by Annelie »

Everyone at the forum is very friendly and will give advice/help.

You could start here

http://www.dd-wast.de/
Annelie
Location: Franconia-Franconie-Franken-巴伐利亚州-Франки-فرانك-バイエルン

Post by HeinrichFrey »

Yes, indeed. And a photo would be very helpful. I´m quite curious...
Best Regards
Matthias

"Lage?"-"Beschissen wäre geprahlt!"
familyties

Post by familyties »