Saving Private Ryan: Waffen-SS Uniform Help

German uniforms, clothing, and awards 1919-1945.

Moderator: John W. Howard

MG-Schutze

Saving Private Ryan: Waffen-SS Uniform Help

Post by MG-Schutze »

Hello fellow members, it's my first time posting here, nice to meet you all :D Can you please tell me guys, what is the specs of the uniforms worn by the Waffen-SS soldiers at the last part of the movie ? Like can you please tell me:

1. Which SS branch are they from ?
2. What's the type of uniform they are wearing ? (M38 Oak, etc.)
3. Can you guys please tell me where online I can purchase the whole uniform & trousers set worn by the SS soldiers in SPR ?

Thank you so much for reading ! Looking forward for your reply ! :D
MikeWindheuser
Supporter

Post by MikeWindheuser »

Hi

Sorry I have not seen Saving private Ryan in a long time so I do not know the unit or uniform although I would suggest that, since it is in 1944, the chaps would be wearing a mixture of plane tree and oakleave pattern camo and any tunic from the M1936-M1944. This is a good site for ordering german uniforms: http://www.richardaunderwood.com/ . I hope you find what you are looking for, I want to buy a uniform but since I am only 15 I do not have the money.

Mike.
Fire is the test of gold; adversity, of strong men.
Herr Doktor
Contributor

Post by Herr Doktor »

Hello,

Much of the wardrobe uniform items for the movie itself were obtained from At The Front. Their website can be found here:

http://www.atthefront.com/

After SPR was made, At The Front sold off lots of interesting uniform pieces used in the SPR movie, I'm sure they have all been sold by now but identical items can still be had from them.

Another place to check out is SM Wholesale, SS especially for camo items:

http://www.smwholesale.com/