Fallschirmjager Photos - Fake, Reprints or Real ??

A place to post photographs and to ask about photographic research.

Moderator: sniper1shot

jimd211545s
Supporter

Fallschirmjager Photos - Fake, Reprints or Real ??

Post by jimd211545s »

I have been collecting German WW2 photos for a few years now and these photos where one of my first buys. I have never been able to decide whether they are genuine or not ?? they did come from e(vil)bay and came from a larger series of photos. I occassionaly see a related one appear on the market and disapear just as quick. So whats the score with them? Fakes, Modern re-prints, taken from a book or genuine???? Jim.
Photos 010.jpg
Photos 010.jpg (111.23 KiB) Viewed 13492 times
Photos 012.jpg
Photos 012.jpg (110.98 KiB) Viewed 13492 times
Photos 013.jpg
Photos 013.jpg (115.45 KiB) Viewed 13492 times
Photos 014.jpg
Photos 014.jpg (108 KiB) Viewed 13492 times
storm39
Supporter

Re: Fallschirmjager Photos - Fake, Reprints or Real ??

Post by storm39 »

What type of paper are they printed on? Have you tried an ultra violet light on them?
jimd211545s
Supporter

Post by jimd211545s »

The paper is Agfa and the ultra violet light test is inconclusive, they dont glow and I have split a corner on one and the paper inside does not glow as I have seen on a definate fake/repro photo, the photos are obviously posed or training shots, which may be why they seem unatural to me (its the equipment make up that makes me think that) didn't know if anyone has seen the others from this series or knows where they come from? Jim.
storm39
Supporter

Post by storm39 »