Need a totenkopf collar tab lesson

German SS and Waffen-SS 1923-1945.
jagerbecker

Need a totenkopf collar tab lesson

Post by jagerbecker »

I need to know when the dual totenkopf collar tabs were worn and by what units. Any help is appreciated.
TH Albright
Supporter

Post by TH Albright »

I am no expert on uniforms of the Third Reich, but I believe the double Totenkopf collar tabs were only worn by members of the Totenkopfdivision circa 1939-41. The reason, I can only guess: perhaps it was used to differentiate TK division personnel from those of the other Totenkopf regiments at the time; also, during the Western campagne, the SS-Verfugungsdivision temporarily abolished the use of collar tabs for security reasons - the SS-TK may have used this rationale not to show the rank tab.
Paul Hanson
Contributor

Post by Paul Hanson »

This question is unanswerable without further info from Jagerbecker. Do you mean the SS Totenkopf or the Heer Panzer Totenkopf. At which troops are you looking?

A good answer depends on whether they are Waffen-SS or Heer Panzertruppen.

PH
jagerbecker

Post by jagerbecker »

Apologies, I'm looking for information regarding the wearing of dual totenkopf collars tab by members of SS-Totenkopf Division in France 1940.

Thank you, TH Albright. Hopefully your information will be confirmed.
Chris
Supporter

Maybe Angolia can answer (parts of) this..

Post by Chris »