Memorial to my Father

German Veterans, vet accounts, MIA searches, KIA info, and on relatives who served.

Moderator: Tom Houlihan

Helmut
Patron

Memorial to my Father

Post by Helmut »

Servus,
My father was a German veteran of the Waffen SS. He served briefly in the Division Reich, Totenkopf, and ended up in the Handschar. He spent three years in England after the war, first as a POW and then as a farm worker. He and my mother came to the USA when I was an infant. He and I spent many hours talking about his experiences in the war. He became as US citizen and labored to make a good life for himself and his family in his adopted country. He never denied or hid his past.

He never glorified war and he didn't sugarcoat it. When I was young, I didn't understand much of it. When I was a little older, I doubted much of it. Then I started studying WWII and I found that much of what I doubted was true after all. I began to ask questions, but not nearly enough questions. Every time I went to visit him I querried him about some little detail that I was curious about from my readings.

Last July when we wntr home to visit dad, I wanted to show him a picture in a book that I had found, he had told me about an officer under whom he had served in Russia andI wanted to show him the picture to see if it was the same individual. I forgot to take the book home. I told him about the picture and told him I would bring it next time I came home.
My father passed away unexpectedly last week. There will be no more conversations. All I have now are my memories. The Oberscharfuehrer's campaign has come to an end.