German To&Es in Normandy, '44

German unit histories, lineages, OoBs, ToEs, commanders, fieldpost numbers, organization, etc.

Moderator: Tom Houlihan

K. Smith

German To&Es in Normandy, '44

Post by K. Smith »

I am working on a research project regarding German and Allied units in Normandy during 1944. Specifically, a comparison of OOBs and TO&Es of all units involved. Does anyone know the TO&E of the standard Recon battalions in the Heer and SS Panzer division?
I have seen that it consisted of 5 companies plus a HQ staff and HQ company. How many armored cars and halftracks were in each unit and what types?

If anyone can be of assistance, I would greatly appreciate. :D

BTW, I have been observing this site and its forum for many years now. Cheers and congrats to all concerned for a first rate job on making this site a premerier research source. :up:

Smith
Christoph Awender
Patron

Post by Christoph Awender »

Hello

It will be very difficult to determine which units used exactly which type of KStN at a certain stage. Good luck with this research. If you need the exact KStN have a look into the KStN section of my site.

\Christoph
Christian
Patron

Post by Christian »

In addition to Christoph Awender's excellent website, I thought that the following information might be interest:
http://web.telia.com/~u18313395/normand ... gerob.html

Cheers,

Christian
K. Smith

Post by K. Smith »

Thanks to both of you for the replies!

Christian, excellent suggestion. Unfortunately, I already have Zetterling's book which I believe the website is based on. BTW, I would recommend it to anyone interested in the German forces in Normandy in 1944. In addition to very detailed information on units involved he also has an interesting discussion on the combat effectiveness of airpower. Disciples of Giulio Douhet will find it very irritating! :x