Wehrmacht German Western Front Uniform And Equipment 39-45

German uniforms, clothing, and awards 1919-1945.

Moderator: John W. Howard

wehrmacht soldat

Wehrmacht German Western Front Uniform And Equipment 39-45

Post by wehrmacht soldat »

Hi,
I am new to Feldgrau I am wondering what uniform the Wehrmacht wore in the Western Front from 1939-1945. I am also wondering what equipment they wore including, helmet, belt, canteen, bread bag, etc.

Thanks for reading and feel free to post. :D
Helmut Von Moltke

Post by Helmut Von Moltke »

hello Soldat,

A simple answer, I would say. German soldiers on Eastern front and Western front wore the same uniforms, and used the same equipment! There was no special uniforms for the fronts! The only difference might be the types of tunics, eg M36, M40, M43, M44 or type of helmets, but they were all evenly distributed among all the fronts.

~'Spiess' Feldwebel K, the EviL
San Martin

Post by San Martin »

Hello there, I understood it that (and according to my references and modelling) for the early Western Campaigns a Feldgrau (which is a green-grey) field tunic was worn over Dunkelgrau (Dark Grey, aka Panzer grey, like on the vehicles) Trousers/Breeches. This would be up until Barbarossa, by which time it was simplified to Feldgrau for all items.

Leather items on both fronts were usually in black (although some brown, but this was more for the tropical regions, but not uncommon at all in the western and Ostfront). This would apply to belts, Y braces, Kar. Bullet pouches, officer's map cases and etc. for examples.

Metal items were in Dunkel Grau, this would apply to the disinctive cylindrical Gas Mask case, Stahlhelm, mess tin and etc.